Laboratory

Mission

The Rehabilitation Engineering Laboratory (REL), established by Prof. Milos R. Popovic in July of 2001, is devoted to the advancement of knowledge, education and technology in the field of rehabilitation engineering. It seeks to advance the science of recovery for people who experience motor impairment due to trauma or disease, and to apply that learning to the design of rehabilitative and regenerative technologies.


People

Principal Investigators

Dr. Julio Furlan, MD, PhD (Neuro-Physiatry Fellow) julio.furlan [at] uhn.ca
Dr. Cesar Marquez-Chin, PhD (Scientist) cesar.marquez [at] uhn.ca
Dr. Kei Masani, PhD (Assistant Professor, Scientist) kei.masani [at] uhn.ca
Prof. Milos R. Popovic, PhD, PEng (Professor, Senior Scientist) milos.popovic [at] utoronto.ca
Dr. José Zariffa, PhD (Assistant Professor, Scientist) josé.zariffa [at] utoronto.ca

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Robart Babona-Pilipos, PhD robert.babona.pilipos [at] utoronto.ca
Dr. Austin J. Bergquist, PhD austin.bergquist [at] uhn.ca
Dr. Bastien Moineau, PhD bastien.moineau [at] uhn.ca
Dr. Aravind Namasivayam, PhD a.namasivayam [at] utoronto.ca

Doctoral Students

Sharon Gabison sharon.gabison [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Martha Garcia martha.garcia [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Stephanie Iwasa stephanie.iwasa [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Lazar Jovanovic lazar.jovanovic [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Sara Mahallati sara.mahallati [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Andresa R. Marinho-Buzelli andresa.marinho [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Luka Milosevic luka.milosevic [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Takashi Yoshida takashi.yoshida [at] mail.utoronto.ca

Masters Students

Umalkhair Ahmed umalkhair.ahmed [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Nancy Liu nancyx.liu [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Taro Yamashita taro.yamashita [at] mail.utoronto.ca
Jaeeun (Angela) Yoo angela.yoo [at] mail.utoronto.ca

Staff

Betty Chan (Administrator) betty.chan [at] uhn.ca
Naaz Desai (Research Associate, Physiotherapist) naaz.desai [at] uhn.ca
Lisa Fong (Administrator) lisa.fong [at] uhn.ca
Esther Oostdyk (Secretary to Dr. Popovic) esther.oostdyk [at] uhn.ca
Abdolazim Rashidi (Engineer) abdolazim.rashidi [at] uhn.ca
Dr. Vera Zivanovic (Coordinator) vera.zivanovic [at] uhn.ca
 

Alumni

Post-Doctoral Fellows

Dr. Dany Gagnon, PhD
Dr. Lora Giangregorio, PhD
Dr. Elias D. Guestrin, PhD
Dr. Judith R. Hunter, PhD
Dr. Reza Javaheri, PhD
Dr. Noritaka Kawashima, PhD
Dr. Sabine Mangold, PhD
Dr. Masae Miyatani, PhD
Dr. Alan Morris, PhD
Dr. Mary Nagai, PhD
Dr. Santa Concepcion Huerta Olivares, PhD
Dr. Ion P.I. Pappas, PhD
Dr. Richard Preuss, PhD
Dr. Hossein Rouhani, PhD
Dr. Dimitry Sayenko, PhD
Dr. T. Alan Thrasher, PhD

Doctoral Students

Mario Bellotti
Cheryl Lynch
Steven McGie
Matija Milosevic
Thierry Keller
Patrick Schneider
Albert Vette

Masters Students

Davide Agnello
Milad Alizadeh-Meghrazi
Kathryn Atwell
Vishvek Babbar
Xavier Tortolero Baena
Lorne Chi
Christy Contway
Michelle Cooper
Bojan Gavrilovic
Geoffrey Graham
Joon-Young Kim
Diane Kostka
Meredith Kuipres
Eric Ma
Bahar Memarian
Rosalynn Miller
Robert Nguyen
Francois Roy
Michael Same
Egor Sanin
Vivian Sin
John Tan
Massimo Tarulli
Lev Vaisman
Noel Wu
Derek Zhi

Staff

Marlene Adams (Occupational Therapist)
Shaghayegh Bagher (Engineer Assistant)
Zina Bezruk (Administrator)
Abdulkadir Bulsen (Engineer)
Chandy Green (Occupational Therapist)
Stephen Hill (Scientist - Volunteer)
Tomoyo Hirabayashi (Coordinator, Physiotherapist)
Sander Hitzig (Coordinator)
Jennifer Holmes (Occupational Therapist)
Anne Hu (Physiotherapist)
Suzanne Iofalla (Physiotherapist)
Farhana Jaffer (Physiotherapist)
Anastasiya Kalnenko (Kinesiologist)
Brenda Son Kee (Kinesiologist)
Janet Lee (Occupational Therapist)
Karen Lepper (Coordinator)
Lorna Lo (Occupational Therapist)
Dan MacLennan (Physiotherapist)
Suzanne Mitchell (Occupational Therapist)
Sharon Peacock (Physiotherapist)
Mark Robinson (Engineer Assistant)
Kieva Richards (Coordinator)
Mark Robinson (Engineer)
Veronica Takes (Occupational Therapist)
Massimo Tarulli (Engineer)
Rosanne Yee (Occupational Therapist)